APA Biblographic Style Guide

• Reference works include dictionaries, encyclopedias (including Wikipedia) and diagnostic manuals.

The following template shows the elements that make up this type of references and their possible variations:

• Authored book with a DOI

Brown, L. S. (2018). Feminist therapy (2nd ed.). American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/0000092-000

• Authored book without a DOI, from most academic research databases or print version

Sapolsky, R. M. (2017). Behave: The biology of humans at our best and worst. Penguin Books.

• Authored book or audiobook without a DOI, with a nondatabase URL

It is not necessary to mention that an audiobook has been consulted if the content is the same as in the printed or electronic version. Only indicate in the reference if the content is different, if you want to highlight an element such as the impact of the narration or if a fragment is quoted.

• Edited book with a DOI

Shmid, H.-J. (Ed.). (2017). Entrenchment and the psychological language learning: How we reorganize and adapt linguistic knowledge. American Psychologycal Association; De Gruyter Mounton. https://doi.org/10.1037/15969-000

In these cases, the names of those who compile, edit, coordinate, direct or perform any other relevant task specified below and in parentheses are placed in the first place of the reference. 

• Edited book without a DOI, from most academic research databases or print version

Leitch, M. G. & Rushton, C. J. (Eds.). (2019). A new companion to Malory. D. S. Brewer.

• Edited book or audiobook without a DOI, with a nondatabase URL

Pridham, K., Limbo, R., & Schroeder, M. (Eds.). (2018). Guided participation in pediatric nursing practice: Relationship-based teaching and learning with parents, children, and adolescents. Springer Publishing Company. https://bit.ly/3slQazo

• Republished book, ebook, or audiobook

Freud, S. (2010). The interpretation of dreams: The complete and definitive text (J. Strachey, Ed. & Trans.). Basic Books. (Original work published 1900)

If the new version has been edited and/or translated from the original, the person responsible is indicated after the title in parentheses. 

Rowling, J. K. (2015). Harry Potter and the sorcerer’s stone (J. Dale, Narr.) [Audiobook]. Pottermore Publishing. http://bit.ly/2TcHchx (Original work published 1997)

If an audiobook was released in a different year tan the text version of the book, treat the audiobook as republished. 

• One volumen of a multivolume work

Fiske, S. T., Gilbert, D. T., & Lindzey, G. (2010). Handbook of social psychology (5th ed., Vol. 1). John Wiley & Sons. https://doi.org/10.1002/9780470561119

If the volume does not have a title of its own, the number is enclosed in parentheses. Otherwise, the number of the volume and the proper title are included after the main title in italics. 

Travis, C. B., & White, J. W. (Eds.). (2018). APA handbook of the psychology of women: Vol. 1. History, theory, and battlegrounds. American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/0000059-000

• Dictionary, thesaurus, or encyclopedia

American Psychological Association. (n.d.). APA dictionary of psychology. Retrieved January 14, 2020, from https://dictionary.apa.org/

When an online reference work is continuously updated and versions are not archived, use “n.d” as the year of publication and include a retrieval date.

Zalta, E. N. (Ed.). (2019). The Standford encyclopedia of philosophy (Summer 2019 ed.). Standford University. https://plato.stanford.edu/archives/sum2019/

When a stable or archived version is cited, a retrieval date is not needed. 

The following template shows the elements that make up this type of references and their possible variations:

•  Chapter in an edited book with a DOI

Balsam, K. F., Martell, C. R. Jones, K. P., & Safren, S. A. (2019). Affirmative cognitive behavior therapy with sexual and gender minority people. In G. Y. Iwamasa & P. A. Hays (Eds.), Culturally responsive cognitive behavior therapy: Practice and supervision (2nd ed., pp. 287-314). American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/0000119-012 

• Chapter in an edited book without a DOI, from most academic research databases or print version

Weinstock, R., Leong, G. B., & Silva, J. A. (2003). Defining forensic psychiatry: Roles and responsibilities. In R. Rosner (Ed.), Principles and practice of forensic psychiatry (2nd ed., pp. 7-13). CRC Press. 

• Chapter in an edited book or audiobook without a DOI, with nondatabase URL

Tafoya, N., & Del Vecchio, A. (2005). Back to the future: An examination of the Native American Holocaust experience. In M. McGoldrick, J. Giordano, & N. Garcia-Preto (Eds.), Ethnicity and family therapy (3rd ed., pp. 55-63). Guilford Press. http://a.co/36xRhBT 

• Entry in a dictionary, thesaurus, or encyclopedia

Graham, G. (2019). Behaviorism. In E. N. Zalta (Ed.), The Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy (Summer 2019 ed.). Stanford University. https://plato.stanford.edu/archives/sum2019/entries/behaviorism/

If an entry in a reference work is individually authored, the bibliographic reference is similar to that of a book chapter. 

• Wikipedia entry

Behaviorism. (2020, January 6). In Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Behaviorism&oldid=934349167

If possible, cite the archived version that was used in the work. In the "View history" tab of the Wikipedia entry you will find the version and its publication date.
If the encyclopaedia does not provide a permanent link to the archived version, the URL and date of consultation will be included.

• This section includes many kinds of reports, among which governmental, technical or research reports stand out. They form part of a category of documents known as gray literature, which also includes press releases, codes of ethics, grants and policy briefs.

The following template shows the elements that make up this type of references and their possible variations:

• Report by a government agency or other organization

Australian Government Productivity Commission & New Zealand Productivity Commission. (2012). Strengthening trans-Tasman economic relations. https://www.pc.gov.au/inquiries/completed/australia-new-zealand/report/trans-tasman

When the author is also responsible for the edition, to avoid repetition, only his name appears as the author of the work.

National Cancer Institute. (2018). Facing forward: Life after cancer treatment (NIH Publication No. 18-2424). U. S. Department of Health and Human Services, National Institutes of Health. https://www.cancer.gov/publications/patient-education/life-after-treatment.pdf

If several agencies have prepared the report, all of them are indicated.
The names of the parent agencies not indicated in the group name appear in the publisher's section.

• Report by a task force, working group, or other group

British Cardiovascular Society Working Group. (2016). British Cardiovascular Society Working Group report: Out-of-hours cardiovascular care: Management of cardiac emergencies and hospital in-patients. British Cardiovascular Society. http://www.bcs.com/documents/BCSOOHWP_Final_Report_05092016.pdf

• Press release

U. S. Food and Drug Administration. (2019, February 14). FDA authorizes first interoperable insulin pump intended to allow patients to customize treatment through their individual diabetes management devices [Press release]. https://www.fda.gov/NewsEvents/Newsroom/PressAnnouncements/ucm631412.htm

Optionally, in less common types of documents, a description can be included in square brackets after the title.

• Conference sessions and presentations include papers, posters, keynote addresses, and symposia contributions.
• A description of the type of presentation is added in square brackets after the title.
• The date coincides with the duration of the congress even if the session lasts only one day.
• Conference proceedings published in a journal or book follow the same format as for a journal article, edited book or edited book chapter.

Use the template shown next to construct references for conference sessions and presentations:

• Conference session

Fistek, A., Jester, E., & Sonnenberg, K. (2017, Jul 12-15). Everybody’s got a little music in them: Using music therapy to connect, engage, and motivate [Conference session]. Autism Society National Conference, Milwaukee, WI, United States. https://asa.confex.com/asa/2017/webprogramarchives/Session9517.html

• Paper presentation

Maddox, S., Hurling, J., Stewart, E., & Edwards, A. (2016, March 30–April 2). If mama ain't happy, nobody's happy: The effect of parental depression on mood dysregulation in children [Paper presentation]. Southeastern Psychological Association 62nd Annual Meeting, New Orleans, LA, United States.

• Poster presentation

Pearson, J. (2018, September 27-30). Fat talk and its effects on state-based body image in women [Poster presentation]. Australian Psychological Society Congress, Sydney, NSW, Australia. http://bit.ly/2XGSThp

Use the template shown next to construct references for symposium contributions:

• Symposium contribution

De Boer, D., & LaFavor, T. (2018, April 26–29). The art and significance of successfully identifying resilient individuals: A person-focused approach. In A. M. Schmidt & A. Kryvanos (Chairs), Perspectives on resilience: Conceptualization, measurement, and enhancement [Symposium]. Western Psychological Association 98th Annual Convention, Portland, OR, United States.

• The references of doctoral theses and dissertations are divided into those that have been published and those that have not.
• Unpublished works are generally accessed at the institution where they were generated and are in printed format. 
• Published works can be found in a database, in a university archive or repository, or on a personal website.

The references of unpublished theses and dissertations have the following structure:

• Unpublished dissertation or thesis

Harris, L. (2014). Instructional leadership perceptions and practices of elementary school leaders [Unpublished doctoral dissertation]. University of Virginia.

The references of published theses and dissertations follow the following structure:

• Dissertation or thesis from a database

Nicol, S. M. (2008). Teachers' knowledge of Asperger's disorder: What every educator should know about Asperger's syndrome (Publication No. 3296768) [Doctoral dissertation, Capella University]. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global.

In the references of published theses and dissertations, the type of document and the institution where it was written are indicated in square brackets.

• Dissertation or thesis published online (not in a database)

Hutcheson, V. H. (2012). Dealing with dual differences: Social coping strategies of gifted and lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer adolescents [Master’s thesis, The College of William & Mary]. W&M ScholarWorks. https://doi.org/10.25774/w4-bwnw-qg16 

• Reviews of books, films, TV shows, albums and other works are published in variety of outlets: scientific journals, newspapers, magazines, websites, and blogs.

Outline of review references:

• Film review published in a journal

Mirabito, L. A., & Heck, N. C. (2016). Bringing LGBTQ youth theater into the spotlight [Review of the film The year we thought about love, by E. Brodsky, Dir.]. Psychology of Sexual Orientation and Gender Diversity, 3(4), 499-500. https://doi.org/10.1037/sgd0000205

• Book review published in a newspaper

Santos, F. (2019, January 11). Reframing refugee children’s stories [Review of the book We are displaced: My journey and stories from refugee girls around the world, by M. Yousafzai]. The New York Times. https://nyti.ms/2Hlgjk3

• TV series episode review published on a web site

Perkins, D. (2018, February 1). The good place ends its remarkable second season with irrational hope, unexpected gifts, and a smile [Review of the TV series episode “Somewhere else,” by M. Schur, Writer & Dir.]. A.V. Club. https://www.avclub.com/the-good-place-ends-its-remarkable-second-season-with-i-1822649316

• Unpublished papers include those that are in progress, that have been completed but not yet submitted for publication, or that have been submitted but not yet accepted.
• Papers that have not been formally published include those that are available in a preprint archive, in a repository such as PsyArXiv, in an electronic archive such as ERIC, in an institutional or government archive, on a personal website, and so forth.

Outline of references of unpublished works:

• Unpublished manuscript

Yoo, J., Miyamoto, Y., Rigotti, A., & Ryff, C. (2016). Linking positive affect to blood lipids: A cultural perspective [Unpublished manuscript]. Department of Psychology, University of Wisconsin-Madison.

• Manuscript in preparation

O’Shea, M. (2018). Understanding proactive behavior in the workplace as a function of gender [Manuscript in preparation]. Department of Management, University of Kansas.

• Manuscript submitted for publication

Lippincott, T, & Poindexter, E. K. (2019). Emotion recognition as a function of facial cues: Implications for practice [Manuscript submitted for publication]. Department of Psychology, University of Washington.

Outline of the references of informally published works:

• Informally published work, from a preprint archive or an institutional repository

Leuker, C., Samartzidis, L., Hertwig, R., & Pleskac, T. J. (2018). When money talks: Judging risk and coercion in high-paying clinical trials. PsyArXiv. https://doi.org/10.17605/OSF.IO/9P7CB

• Informally published work, from ERIC database

Ho, H.-K. (2014). Teacher preparation for early childhood special education in Taiwan (ED545393). ERIC. https://files.eric.ed.gov/fulltext/ED545393.pdf