Home
When writing an academic paper, it is essential to clearly identify which ideas and information have been taken from other sources and which are actually the product of the author of the paper. This topic will teach you how to use information ethically and avoid any kind of plagiarism.
When you use someone else's words or ideas without mentioning them, you are committing a type of theft called plagiarism
In Spain, authorship rights are protected by the Intellectual Property Law. You can find more information about plagiarism and copyright on the Intellectual Property website developed by the Library.
To avoid plagiarism when you write your work, carefully identify all borrowed material, including quoted words and phrases, paraphrased ideas, summarized arguments, and facts and other information. You should always indicate the source by in-text citation and her corresponding entry in your list of works cited will give your reader full information about the source. Correctly citing the sources consulted for the preparation of your work allows you to:
- Acknowledging the work of other authors.
- Avoid plagiarism.
- Enable anyone to locate the sources of information cited in the work.
- To give credibility and consistency to our work.
Since 1929, the American Psychological Association (APA) has produced the most widely used manual of style for scientific writing in the social and behavioral sciences. The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association provides guidance on all aspects of the writing process, including the rules for in-text citations and bibliographical references..
APA Style uses the author–date citation system, in which a brief in-text citation directs readers to a full reference list entry.
The in-text citation appears within the body of the paper (or in a table, figure, footnote, or appendix) and briefly identifies the cited work by its author and date of publication.
This enables readers to locate the corresponding entry in the alphabetical reference list at the end of the paper
.
In your research work, you must clearly understand some basic concepts such as:
- Citation.
- Bibliographic reference.
- The difference between a works cited list and a bibliography.
-
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
by
ISBN: 9781433832178With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. -
Concise Guide to APA Style
by
ISBN: 9781433832734Concise Guide to APA Style, Seventh Edition is the official APA Style resource for students. It provides complete guidance on effective, clear, and inclusive scholarly communication and the essentials of formatting papers. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing.
We recommend that you review the section Creating citations and bibliographic references on the BUA website. In addition, from that same page you can access the different citation styles available.
If you want to find out how to manage your bibliographic references, see the Bibliographic reference managers section of our website.