Introduction
When writing an academic paper, it is essential to clearly identify which ideas and information have been taken from other sources and which are actually the author's own work.
This topic will teach you how to use information ethically and avoid any kind of plagiarism. When you use someone else's words or ideas without mentioning them, you are committing a type of theft called plagiarism.
In Spain, authorship rights are protected by the Intellectual Property Law. You can find more information about plagiarism and copyright on the Intellectual Property website developed by the Library.
To avoid plagiarism when you write your work, carefully identify all borrowed material, including quoted words and phrases, paraphrased ideas, summarized arguments, and facts and other information. You should always indicate the source by in-text citation and her corresponding entry in your list of works cited will give your reader full information about the source. Correctly citing the sources consulted for the preparation of your work allows you to:
- Acknowledging the work of other authors.
- Avoid plagiarism.
- Enable anyone to locate the sources of information cited in the work.
- To give credibility and consistency to our work.
The Modern Language Association (MLA) is the organization responsible for the style that bears its name, the MLA style, which is widely used in the humanities, language and literature.
MLA style requires that the sources used in the work be cited in the text. For this purpose, a short citation method is used, which is explained below.
In your research work, you must clearly understand some basic concepts such as:
- Citation.
- Bibliographic reference.
-
The difference between a works cited list and a bibliography.
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers by ISBN: 9781603290241: 01-01-2009Widely adopted by universities, colleges, and high schools, the MLA Handbook is the guide that millions of writers have relied on for more than half a century. The seventh edition, discontinued by the MLA in spring 2016 following the publication of the eighth edition, provides the MLA's previous recommendations on documentation style for use in student writing. Please note that copies of the seventh edition of the MLA Handbook include a code to access an accompanying website. The website is no longer available
MLA Handbook by ISBN: 9781603292627: 01-04-2016The Modern Language Association (MLA), the authority on research and writing, takes a new approach to source documentation in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook, the official guide to MLA formatting.
Rather than providing separate instructions for each format, MLA's unique and innovative approach recommends a set of guidelines that writers can apply to any type of source
MLA Handbook by ISBN: 9781603293518: 2021-04-22The ninth edition of the MLA style manual includes the following updates:
- A new appendix with examples of bibliographic cards (appendix 2).
- A new section on annotated bibliography.
- Updated guidelines on how to avoid plagiarism.
- Chapter on how to format a research report.
- New chapter on inclusive language
We recommend that you review the section Creating citations and bibliographic references on the BUA website
In addition, from that same page you can access the different citation styles available.
If you want to find out how to manage your bibliographic references, see the Bibliographic reference managers section of our website.